Expert Forum User

Default Lock for front door? Doorbell for when door is opened?

DS1 knows how to unlock the front door and he opened the front door to go outside yesterday while I was nursing DS1. I was right there so I put the baby down and went after him.

I have been after DH to buy a lock for the front door (DS1 can open the child proof door handle ones) to put up high where he can't reach it. I have told DH if he doesn't have it put on by Monday that I am calling someone in to do it, I don't care the cost. I have been asking for this for 2 years

What lock do you use on the front door? Do you know where to get the "doorbell chime" thingy so that it will go off when the door is opened (in case someone (DH) forgets to put the lock on)

It really freaked me out.

DH's response was "well, did he leave the door open?"

I was like "WTF?"

He said "you said if it had happened while you were somewhere else in the house you wouldn't know where he went".

DH is soooooooooooooooo missing the point! He just can't get it through his thick frickin skull how dangerous this could be for DS1.

Expert Forum User

Home Depot sells a door alarm -- it is in their hardware section. Is easy to install.

Expert Forum User

We got an awesome lock from Canadian Tire for around $25. Easy for DH to install.

And, of all places, I got some of the door alarms - and they are LOUD - from the Dollars and Discounts store in Exeter. I *think* I also picked some up from Dollarama. They work GREAT. Cheaper to buy a bunch than it is to buy new batteries for them. The batteries are about $3 each and tehy take three. Not sure how they sell the units for 41 each, but I'm not complaining!
    www.southhilldesigns.com/carolwood
    www.facebook.com/charms2last.carolwood

The devil on my left shoulder wants me to reply, but the angel on my right shoulder is screaming: filter.....FILTER! - unknown

Expert Forum User