Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Teachers! tell me about your job

I am seriously considering going to teachers college. It would be for French, so I d have to take a few more courses this year (I am fluent but need a few more French credits, I already have a BA).

Tell me about your job - pros and cons, impressions of what it is like for a French teacher,

TIA!
    Former Username JOTR

Expert Forum User The Ultimate London Mom!

I teach primary/junior. I have been teaching for 7 years. I was hired right out of teacher's college (not the norm).

I love my job. Its a passion, and I wholy believe that you should not enter teaching unless its your passion. From a outsider's perspective, teachers work great hours and have great holidays. The holiday part is true LOL. The hours, not so much. I take home on average 2 hours of work/night and several hours on the weekend. My days are exhausting, physically and mentally. You become emotionally invested in every child you teach, and their difficulties and challenges go straight to the heart. There are days that I question wheather its worth it. And days when little things make it all worthwhile. It is a hard yet rewarding job.

Its hard to find a permanent possition. Generally even once you do your job can change from year to year. I have only ever taught the same grade twice, although I have been at the same school a number of years. The ministry of education and the board are always hurling new initiatives and such at you....while providing little or no training and no time to learn. Expect to use a lot of your “free“ time to do school work.

That said, there is a lot more opportunity for french teachers than any other teacher.
    "Anything is better than lies and deceit". Leo Tolstoy

Tell me more about the cons and creating a work/life balance...
    I need to really understand this if I am serious about pursuing it.
    Is dealing with the parents one of the biggest stresses? Or dealing with the school system?