Thread: career

Talking career

at this stage in the game would you train for a new career and what direction would you go?

The future is uncertain... but this uncertainty is at the very heart of human creativity

If I were to go back to school I would like to do the law clerk program at Fanshawe. I did my minor in university in criminal justice and public policy so would like to do something with that.

Expert Forum User

It is interesting that you posted this... I was thinking it would be neat to see how many people have switched careers since having children or if people are doing what they went to school for. I'll have to follow this post!

As for me... I went to University and got a Bachelor of Human Kinetics Degree. Then I worked as a kinesiologist for a few years and decided to stay home after my second child was born. Now I am taking Real Estate courses while I am home with my girls.

Expert Forum User

I am now a stay at home mom, that is my new career...lol I didn't goo to school and am a certified Occupational Therapist Assistant, but that was many years ago and I don't think I 'd be able to jump back in wehen I'm done raising my children.

I think that when my kids are school age, I would want a job with the same holidays as them, so maybe an EA or something?

I'm not going into a brand new career, per se, but before my daughter was born I was doing in-house communications. Now, I'm staying at home and trying to develop a freelance business. That way, I can still be home with the kiddies but also continue the work I enjoy and help pay some bills (hopefully!).

I think once I am completly done have kids and they are all in school I will be going to Collage or Universitty...depending on what job I choose. We will see but my goals are either midwife, doula or dental assitant...lets see what I think in 10 years?!