Poll: Should school children stand for the national anthem

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Polly

Default Should school children stand for "O Canada" ?

I was surprised to see in my son's school that they don't. My Canadian friend was horrified so I guess you used to have to stand for the national anthem.

Expert Forum User

I work in a school and we still stand and most classes actually sing. I think it is disrespectful not to stand personally. Just my 2cents
    Laura
    Mom to Haley (7) and Paige (5)

If I could tell the story in words, I wouldn't need to lug around a camera.
    ~Lewis Hine~

I remember we had to do it all through school even in high school. Even if you were not born in Canada ( the children) I think that they should still respect for the country which they live in and should stand for the national athem.

Polly

Quote Originally Posted by Joanna View Post
    I remember we had to do it all through school even in high school. Even if you were not born in Canada ( the children) I think that they should still respect for the country which they live in and should stand for the national athem.
    I agree. Taken to its extreme, one of the reasons why Canada is such a great place to live is because the people here are so proud of their country. You start ignoring little things like standing for the national anthem when you used to and I think that's the slippery slope to a lot of future problems.

Expert Forum User

My grade 7 class still stands and some of them like to sing. Our school plays the anthem every morning and only students with religious beliefs as not to stand are allowed to do so. Those students usually sit in the hall during O Canada and come in right afterwards

Zoo
    Expert Forum User The Ultimate London Mom!

What religious belief precludes someone from standing during the national anthem? Although I think here they sing the version with "God keep our land..." so maybe that's why?