Expert Forum User The Ultimate London Mom! eversoclever's Avatar

Default I've been out of work for a long time.

And I'd like to go back. But I have no job experience to list for the last 5 years due to being a SAHM. My resume is very sad looking. And I'm also an immigrant -- not sure if that's going to work against me or not.

What do should I do to get myself back in the driver's seat career-wise?

Banned

What career are you after? Or do you just want a job?

Expert Forum User

Quote Originally Posted by eversoclever View Post
    And I'd like to go back. But I have no job experience to list for the last 5 years due to being a SAHM. My resume is very sad looking. And I'm also an immigrant -- not sure if that's going to work against me or not.

What do should I do to get myself back in the driver's seat career-wise?
    I know there are programs to help immigrants get into the workforce. I think a lot of places will hire you over someone else because you ARE an immigrant. They get tax breaks.

I would like to go back to administration/secretarial work at least until I get into grad school. I've thought about applying with temp agencies, but don't they need to see some kind of recent job history and/or references?

Expert Forum User The Ultimate London Mom!

Immigrant as in permanent resident with the right to work?
    I don't think that should be an issue. I was able to (with my ridiculous first and last name) to always get a job and my immigrant status was never even brought up.

Expert Forum User