Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Dear Experienced BW'ing mommys

I want to wear my baby! He is a big boy, about 7 months and ohhhhh 26lbs or so. I like the look of the ring slings, any thoughts on if this is suitable or not? I am a nurse so I can hold a fair bit of weight, as long as its comfortable

Expert Forum User The Ultimate London Mom!

For your only or main carrier, I would say probably not to ringslings. They are beautiful it's true, and quick on and off. But they only distribute weight over your one shoulder, so for longer carries my back starts to feel like an 's' with a ringsling.

I would suggest a mei tai? My DD is 27 lbs, and I have a Bamberoo. Those you have to get from the States, but I tried a Natural Mother Mei Tai which is made locally, and it felt very similar, the shoulders are nicely padded and I liked the head support for if they fall asleep. I would probably go for one of those.

Quote Originally Posted by myrrah View Post
    I tried a Natural Mother Mei Tai which is made locally, and it felt very similar, the shoulders are nicely padded and I liked the head support for if they fall asleep. I would probably go for one of those.
    Ds is about 20 pounds and I don't like the ring sling. I LOVE the Natural Mother Mei Tai. I have one right now and it is so comfy. My 30 pound dd fits in it no problem. She won't last longer than 2 minutes but they were a comfy 2 minutes.
    mama to 3

I love my mei tai!

Expert Forum User

I agree, a ringsling is too hard on your one shoulder for any length of time. For a quick grocery shop, they're awesome, but I'd go with a mei tei for longer use.
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pumpkinery-Creations/220912411314225