Thread: Fabric

Expert Forum User

Default Fabric

I was just wondering where does everyone buy their fabric from? Where do you find the best deals? Greatest selection? What ever, anything and everything about fabric.

I am just getting into sewing and I feel very lost just in trying to figure out what type of fabrics to use for what. Any help would be appreciated.
    DS#1 Dec 06
    DS#2 May 08
    DD#1 Oct 09
    DD#2 Dec 10

Ive found walmart to have great prices..although im not doing any big project..pillow cases, barbie dresses etc. Ive been to fabric land and they often have a huge sale its a scarey place because theres so many choices.
    Been to Lens mills again theres lots to choose from
    Mom of 2 and 2

Mump&Grump_Mom

Fabricland has a good selection and really good sales. You can check their website (fabricland.ca I think) and check out what is on sale at any given time. They usually have one sale right after the other too.

If you are just getting started with sewing you can get some basic patterns and some cotton print fabric to work with, something that isn't too costly or difficult to work with.

http://www.mccall.com/ has good prices on patterns, about 1/2 what you pay in the store.

I like to work with flannelette and cotton, making blankets and bibs for my little ones. The hardest part of sewing is finding the time

Sarah

Expert Forum User

I buy all of mine at Fabricland. As already mentioned, great selection and prices. You can also get a member card that gives you more discounts. As for advice, I don't think you want mine! I NEVER use a pattern, I don't measure - I just go with the flow and see what I end up with. I cook the same way. Sometimes I am quite impressed and sometimes my project ends up in the garbage!