Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default opinions on baby shower registries

Good morning!

I'm new to Londonmoms.ca - pregnant with my first and due in July.

My friend and mom want to throw me a shower and I have been wrestling with whether to register. Is is tacky or is it helpful to people to know what to get you what you need without lots of duplicates?

My husband and I are getting all the big stuff but will need so much of all the little things. I have mixed feelings about the registry - is is convenient and helpful or spoiled and entitled?

Opinions are welcome....

First off congrats!!!!!

Im not having a shower (don't know anyone in London) but from my experience buying gifts for other people, I thought it was convenient.
    You are never sure what the person you are buying for has and doesn't have..so having a list of what you still need makes that so much easier.
    I don't think anyone would think you are being tacky. Its such a common thing to do and is really helpful....assuming you don't do a Tiffany's & Co. registry LOL

Expert Forum User The Ultimate London Mom!

Congrats from one summer mom to another!

Not tacky at all, that what they are there for. If its helps you could have registries for a couple of places like Wal-Mart, TRUs, that way the people that are coming to your shower who may wish to purchase items or even multiple items of the 'little' things can do so more inexpensively. Especially now in todays economy, your guests will still want to get you something nice, if you have the option of alot of items that are less expensive they are more likely to purchase them than few items that are expensive. Just a suggestion. I went to my sitters shower last summer and she had one at Wm with alot of 'little' things and i put together a basket for her, she LOVED it.