Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By rachbent
  • 2 Post By SpringChicks
  • 2 Post By Carol
  • 1 Post By a_bun_in_the_oven

Thread: what do contractions feel like?!

Default what do contractions feel like?!

Ladies

I am scared to death about the labour. My friend told me the contractions sort of feel like electricty running through your body...is this accurate? how does everyone else describe them? also, if you have an epidural does it kind of deaden or calm the contraction pains so you dont feel them as much? knowing will ease my mind...ive never been in alot of pain before.

Ive never had an epidural so I have no experience there, but yes, the contractions suck and even though I didnt have long or intense labours, I just had to push through the pain and think that there is an end to it and at the end, there is a baby. I found that reminding myself it wouldn't go on forever really helped.

Have you considered getting a doula?

Everyone's birth story is different, everyone's pain tolerance is different and everyone's body reacts differently. Some people will tell you they just closed their eyes, went to a different place and let it happen with virtually no pain. Others are in agony.

I was also scared to death. I had an epidural with the birth of my first son. It took a while to set in, but once it did I felt nothing from the waist down. It made the experience bearable and allowed me to actually enjoy having a baby. I tried to get an epidural for my second child, but he came too fast.
    LaLa likes this.

When labour started for me both times the contractions felt like strong period cramps. They progressed to an intense tightening in my belly. I had an epidural both times but had to wait an insanely long time to get them. The breathing techniques really help in the management of the pain. I remember being so scared of labour too, but it's over so quickly and will be a distant memory. There are so many things more difficult about having a baby than the labour part.