Default Need sewing machine recommendations

I am planning on purchasing my first sewing machine and I need recommendations from experienced sewers please!

I was leaning towards a Kenmore brand, only because of feedback from a relative - but no specific model was recommended.

Here is a link to the Sears machines that are currently offered:

Sewing machines | Sears Canada

Would you recommend one of these, or a different model/make entirely. I am not stuck on needing to buy from Sears, although I do have a gift certificate and a coupon to use from Sears!

I am relatively new to sewing, but would like to develop it as a hobby/talent. I imagine I would like the machine to be versatile enough that it be useful to me as my skills would grow.

Thanks in advance!

Expert Forum User

What is your budget? I borrowed my moms Janome... which I shouldn't have done as it's well outside of any sewing machine budget I would have.

Husqvarna makes wicked sewing machines. Pricey, but well worth it.

I picked up a second hand Kenmore and love it! It has to be at least 20 years old and works great! The bottom of it has a 25 year warranty on it.

My very first machine was a Kenmore and lasted me a longtime. The only reason i got rid of it was because I wanted to upgrade to a computerized embroidery machine. Kenmore is actually made by Janome. Stay away from Singer. They used to be the best but now they are cheaply made

I used to work in a sewing machine store so feel free to ask me any questions you may have

I also teach sewing if you need to learn
    Last edited by Eleanor Rigby; 03-23-2013 at 10:19 PM. Reason: Damn Autocorrect!

Expert Forum User