Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: kangaroo care

Post kangaroo care

Hi...

Just wanted to encourage you NICU moms to do some research on Kangaroo care. I studied it recently (i'm studying with Dr. jack Newman) and it is UNBELIEVABLE the difference it can make for babies, esp preterm ones! It should be carried on for as long as possible both in hospital and at home.

Just a short blurb about kangaroo care: Also known as skin to skin contact, a baby (even a tiny tiny preemie) is held skin to skin at the mother's chest. The baby should be held more vertically than horizontally with her held tilted up (helps them breathe.) It has been PROVEN to helps baby maintain body temp, blood sugar, respiration and heart rate BETTER than an incubator. Studies were done in under developed places where there are very vew incubators to go around. Babies who had kangaroo care did better than babies in incubators, EVEN when they were born at earlier gestations and/or lower birth weights. Skin to skin calms mom and babe, helps bonding and milk supply. MOst importantly it is something that YOU can actually DO to HELP your precious preemie thrive (instead of sitting there feeling helpless!!)

Push those people in the NICU. Tell them you want Kangaroo care to be part of your baby's treatment!

The Lactationista
    I'm the Lactationista
    www.breastfeedingsupport.ca
    Ask me your breastfeeding questions!!!!!!!!!

Former lawyer turned crunchy-stay-at-home-mom to two blessings "Lucky" 06/02 and "Dolce" 08/06. Verision 3.0 is due this August 2011! I am passionate about breastfeeding and I am a breastfeeding counsellor, with training from the Newman Breastfeeding Clininc & Institute. I do private home visits in the LONDON area.