Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    HippieMama

That's fabulous!

Expert Forum User The Ultimate London Mom!

That looks great!

Quote Originally Posted by MMmama View Post
    I bought a whole bunch of wool sweaters to make into soakers and longies. I've attempted this before with a "triangle" type soaker pattern. Didn't turn out so well. I did the largest recommend size and the are so tiny! Never used them more than once with his giant bubble butt diapers. I have serger but I am a total novice. This are things I'd like to try for over our Bamboozles and Mother Ease One Size dipes:

Felted sweater pull-on soaker
    Felted sweater wrap soaker serged edges with resin snaps (eg. Loveybums inspired)
    Wool-in-twos with snaps to attach to the Motherease or homemade somehow.
    Lightly felted sweater longies with the sleeves.

Any tips for felting and/or patterns/sewing? What's your favourite way to do it?

TIA

I posted the longies I made out of the sweaters I got in the cloth diapers 101. I used the sewing machine first to get the sizing I wanted then I went back over with a serger. If you serge from the get go and you make an error the project is wrecked and you have to start again with something bigger. A sewing machine, you can unpick the seam if it's not fitting and let it out some.
    I first felted them thanks to lhastie's directions. I measured the heal to crotch zab is 10inches. So I measured up the arms 11 " just to give some room. I cut the sleeves on the sweater as close to the seam as possible.
    I can show you his if you like we'll be in town on friday evening? We're always up for a play date. The other thing I liked about his longies are that you don't need a onsie I made the waist extra long and pull them up just short of his chest. I also love that the lanlolin stuff has a sort of oil that stops his legs from drying out. I love the pants.
    Last edited by Zabsmom; 04-02-2008 at 11:51 PM.

Expert Forum User