Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Tips for Felting and Sewing Wool covers?

I bought a whole bunch of wool sweaters to make into soakers and longies. I've attempted this before with a "triangle" type soaker pattern. Didn't turn out so well. I did the largest recommend size and the are so tiny! Never used them more than once with his giant bubble butt diapers. I have serger but I am a total novice. This are things I'd like to try for over our Bamboozles and Mother Ease One Size dipes:

Felted sweater pull-on soaker
    Felted sweater wrap soaker serged edges with resin snaps (eg. Loveybums inspired)
    Wool-in-twos with snaps to attach to the Motherease or homemade somehow.
    Lightly felted sweater longies with the sleeves.

Any tips for felting and/or patterns/sewing? What's your favourite way to do it?

TIA
    K ~ Wife and Helpmeet to J, SAHM to DD, M ('05) and DS, B ('07) an'd blessing no. 3 due Oct.'09!

I have a snap press! PM if you have something that needs resin snaps replaced or added. Diapers, clothes, etc.

girlsmum

Sorry about my hand Kim, this is as far as I've gotten on my wool soaker, I just have to finish the backside, the slim part is the crotch, the bottom part is the front part of the soaker. So once I've ribbed the bum for the waistline I'll fold it over and sew the sides together with my yarn needle and decide then if I want to add a frill around the legs crocheted on or not.

To felt it, I have to wash in hot/rinse in cold and machine dry at I assume a low temperature, not too hot. Once that's done I can pin it mildly damp to my ironing board to enlarge it if needed, but my girls have dolly bums and the pattern I'm using only uses on set of stitch numbers.

Sounds like fun though, I bought a black sweater from Lauren to rip apart and redo into soakers, then felt.

P.S. Those are bamboo needles I'm using, I love the sturdiness so much better than plastic!!

Expert Forum User